Criminal Background Checks
Criminal Background checks are based solely on Name and Date of Birth. Social Security numbers cannot be used as an identifier. Tenant Data does review ALL arrests and convictions to assure the accuracy of the report. We complete these out as quickly as possible, but in some cases the research takes awhile. Please be patient, and do not hesitate to contact us if you have any questions.
Multistate Criminal Background Reports is a database check purchased from an outside source. Tenant Data is continuously researching the various sources so that we can give our clients the best database check we can buy. This criminal history check currently covers 45 states and includes a sex offender check from ALL 50 states and the District of Columbia.
States Included: Alabama(DOC), Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado (DOC), Connecticut, DC, Florida, Georgia(DOC), Hawaii(DOC), Idaho(DOC), Illinois(some counties excluded), Indiana(some counties excluded), Iowa, Kansas(DOC), Kentucky(DOC), Louisiana(DOC), Maine(DOC), Maryland, Michigan(DOC), Minnesota, Mississippi(DOC), Missouri, Montana(DOC), Nebraska(DOC), Nevada(DOC plus Clark County), New Hampshire(DOC), New Jersey, New Mexico, New York(DOC), North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont(DOC), Virginia(DOC), Washington, West Virginia(DOC), Wisconsin. Those states noted with DOC only consists of data from the states' department of corrections.
States Included, but statewide reports recommended: Idaho, Nebraska - $9 each; Alabama, Colorado, Delaware, Georgia, Hawaii, Indiana, South Dakota - $12 each; Illinois, Kansas, Michigan, Virginia - $28 each; Maine, Vermont - $40 each; New York - $75. Very limited information is included in the multi-state database check.
States Included, but county-level reports recommended: Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, West Virginia. Other counties recommended over statewide if applicant only lived in one county are Illinois, Kansas, Maine, Michigan, Vermont and Virginia. Very limited information is included in the multi-state database check. Prices Start at $12, with some counties incurring additional court fees.
States NOT included: California (county-level only), Delaware (county-level only), Massachusetts (county-level only), South Dakota(statewide available), Wyoming (county-level only)
Tenant Data Policy
In light of the recent HUD guidelines and disparate impact, and upon the advice of our attorney, we have instituted the following policy in regard to the criminal data we provide our customers as follows:
- We do not provide misdemeanor case information when the offense date is 7 years or older, unless it is a sexual offense.
- We will include felonies when the offense date is older than 7 years, unless it is from one of the following states: WASHINGTON, CALIFORNIA, MASSACHUSETTS, KANSAS, MARYLAND, NEW HAMPSHIRE, NEW MEXICO, NEVADA, NEW YORK. These states that have adopted an analog or "mini-me" Fair Credit Reporting Act ("FCRA") statute that restricts the reporting of felonies with an offense date over 7 years.
- We are also not providing juvenile cases, dismissed cases, dismissed offenses, arrest records, and speeding or traffic/motor violations.
HUD Guidance on Disparate Impact
Please select the link below to read HUD's guidance regarding disparate impact of criminal background checks.